Randy Travis Named CMT Artist Of A Lifetime

Randy Travis Named CMT Artist Of A Lifetime

After re-releasing his debut album from 1986, Randy Travis will be given the Artist Of A Lifetime award at this years CMT ceremony in October.

Previous recipients for this award include Merle Haggard, Kenny Rogers, Loretta Lynn, Reba McEntire and Shania Twain.

After suffering a stroke in 2013, Travis hasn't been able to record new music or perform, despite making occasional appearances with other Country acts. Kane Brown and Josh Turner to name a few.

Mickey Guyton will also be honored with the Breakthrough Artist Of The Year award, despite never having a song crack the top 20 on Country radio and dropping her country sound to find "success" after the death of George Floyd.

Regardless, congrats to Randy Travis. One of the greatest to ever do it.

Leave a comment